
Business Type: Manufacturer
Main Products:XANTHAN GUM COLLAGEN CASING
ID:20110532137
Category: Food and Beverage Food Additives
MOQ:500.00 KG
pectin powderpectin E440pectin food gradeHM pectinLM pectin
L/CT/T
Allow us to enlighten you on a natural, nutritional and healthy ingredient called pectin powder. Pectin is a natural fibre found in fruits and vegetables. It has been used since the early 1800s and commercially produced since the early 1900s. Pectin used in food applications are derived from an aqueous extraction, typically using citrus peel and apple pomace, followed by a selective precipitation process. The precipitated pectin is then dried, milled and standardized as powder.
As one of largest supplier of powdered fruit pectin in China, we combine our high quality raw materials, process knowledge & the knowledge of our client’s processes to provide great products & exciting solutions. Alchemist can supply grades of pectin that meet the specifications of USP/E440 Pectin when tested accordingly.
1. ACPec Pectin E440 Specification
Item | Specification |
Name | Pectin |
CAS No | 900-69-5 |
Appearanc | White, yellowish, light greyish or light brownish powder |
Loss on drying | ≤12% |
Sulfur dioxide | ≤50mg/kg |
Residual Solvents | ≤1% |
Acid-insoluble Ash | ≤1% |
Total insolubles | ≤3% |
Nitrogen content | ≤2.5% |
Galacturonic Acid | ≥ 65.0% |
Lead | <5Mg/Kg |
2. ACPec pectin functional use
Pure powdered pectin provides gelation, viscosity, texture and protein stability in a range of food applications.
l It is used widely as a gelling agent in jams and jellies. The classical application is giving the jelly-like consistency to jams or marmalades, which would otherwise be sweet juices. Pectin also reduces syneresis in jams and marmalades and increases the gel strength of low-calorie jams.
l As pectin thickener, it exhibits a lower viscosity, but works with other thickeners in food, such as gelatine, locust bean gum, modified food starch, agar agar, guar gum and gum arabic.
l Pectin is used as protein stabilization for low pH dairy protein drinks, Plant-based fermented products and fruit preparations for spoonable plant-based or dairy products.
l In addition to its traditional use in jams, jellies and sugar confectionery, pectin improves the mouthfeel and taste profiles of beverages and yogurts even in low-sugar applications with an improved nutritional profile.
1. FAQs:
l Is it Halal?
Yes, pectin is halal and complies with Muslim policy.
l Is it Gluten free?
Yes, it is gluten free as without wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains.
l Is it Vegan?
Yes, pectin is vegan as it naturally exists in fruits and the manufacturing process without using animal-derived products are, so it is suitable to the diet of vegetarians.
l Is Pectin Safe to Eat?
Yes, it almost has no side effects and the safety has been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and European Food Safety Authority (EFSA), as well as the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA).

Business Type:Manufacturer
Online Supplier